How many trophies has Manchester United won in its history?

The Red Devils are one of the most successful clubs in the world

Manchester United have not won a trophy in five seasons, which is unusual for a team as decorated as the Red Devils.

Although Manchester United have not won the Premier League title since the departure of the great Sir Alex Ferguson in 2013, the Red Devils have a long history of winning trophies.

United have won the Premier League 20 times, more than any other English club. They also achieved success on the European stage, being the first and only English team to win the treble (Premier League, FA Cup and Champions League) in 1999.

United’s last chance at a trophy this season came in the Champions League, where they were knocked out in the round of 16 by Atletico Madrid.

Here is a list of all the trophies Manchester United have won.

Trophy Division
FA Cup
Titles: 12
Expired years: 1909, 1948, 1963, 1977, 1983, 1985, 1990, 1994, 1996, 1999, 2004, 2016
The only other team that has won the FA Cup more often than Manchester United is Arsenal, who have done so 14 times.

With Louis van Gaal at the helm, United’s most recent FA Cup victory came in 2016, when they defeated Crystal Palace in the championship game.

League Cup
Titles: 5
Expired years: 1992, 2006, 2009, 2010, 2017
Liverpool hold the record with nine League Cup wins, while United have only won five times.

Under Jose Mourinho, United last won the competition in 2017, when they defeated Southampton 3-2.

FA Community Shield (Charity Shield)
Titles: 21
Years expired: 1908, 1911, 1952, 1956, 1957, 1965*, 1967*, 1977*, 1983, 1990*, 1993, 1994, 1996, 1997, 2003, 2007, 2008, 2010, 2011, 2016
United participated in the Community Shield frequently due to their consistent success in the league and FA Cup.

They actually won the usual curtain raise 21 times, which is more than any other team has achieved in the event’s history.

UEFA Champions League (European Cup)
Titles: 3
Expired years: 1968, 1999, 2008
In 1968, under the leadership of Matt Busby, United won the European Cup by defeating Benfica 4-1 in the championship game.

Ferguson led United to an incredible 2-1 victory over Bayern Munich in 1999. Teddy Sheringham and Ole Gunnar Solskjaer scored goals in extra time to give United the victory after losing 1-0.

In 2008, Ferguson oversaw United’s victory over Chelsea in the Champions League on penalties.

UEFA Cup Winners’ Cup
Titles: 1
Expired years: 1991
United defeated Barcelona 2-1 in Rotterdam and won their first European title in 23 years.

UEFA Europa League
Titles: 1
Expired years: 2017
United’s most recent trophy was the Europa League title, won in 2017 with a 2-0 win over Ajax thanks to goals from Paul Pogba and Henrikh Mkhitaryan.

European Super Cup
Titles: 1
Expired years: 1991
United met European Cup champions Belgrade Red Star in the UEFA Super Cup final after winning the Cup Winners’ Cup.

Intercontinental Cup
Titles: 1
Expired years: 1999
The Champions League and Copa Libertadores champions of South America competed in a tournament called the Intercontinental Cup.

FIFA Club World Cup
Titles: 1
Expired years: 2008
The FIFA Club World Cup replaced the Intercontinental Cup, and United also won that event after defeating Ecuador’s LDU Quito 1-0 in the 2008 final. Wayne Rooney scored the winning goal.

English Second Division
Titles: 2
Expired years: 1936, 1975
United achieved promotion to the top flight by winning the second division championship on two separate occasions. Since 1975, they have remained in the first division.

Premier League (First Division)
Titles: 20
Years expired: 1908, 1911, 1952, 1956, 1957, 1965, 1967, 1993, 1994, 1996, 1997, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2003, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2011, 2013
Prior to Ferguson’s arrival, United had won seven league titles, but the Scotsman ended a 26-year wait for the trophy in 1993. Ferguson won the league 13 times, with his relentless thirst for success helping United’s dominance of English football. .

Liverpool, on the other hand, are currently just one league title behind United after winning their 19th title in the 2019-20 season.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Follow us on Social Media
%d bloggers like this: