UEFA Player of the Year: List of all winners

Previously, it was called the Best Player in Europe Award

In this world of football, every player works hard with equal determination, motivation and pride for his club or nation so that he can achieve the epitome of the game and finally recognize his name. But the hard work that a player is doing throughout his entire day and career certainly needs to be channeled in a specific direction, as well as making his conscious presence in a national team or a club.

These sacrifices certainly need some sort of monetary prizes or trophies to further elevate your passion for the sport. One of the trophies that has been a vital motivator for the football stars of our world is the ‘UEFA Player of the Year Award’. The desire for the trophy is such that it gives the player an external impulse to show himself before the world, contributing to both his club and his nation.

UEFA Football Player of the Year
Finally, the award was replaced by the UEFA Player of the Year, which was awarded from 1998 to 2010. The last award was awarded in 2010, when the UEFA Football Player of the Year was given to Diego Milito, who played for Argentina and Inter. Milan as a centre-forward.

Later that year, in 2011, Lionel Messi became the first football player to have won that trophy and Cristiano Ronaldo is the only player to have won that title three times. In 2017, a certain rule change was introduced to the trophy judging system, which included a total of 80 coaches on the commission who were in the UEFA Champions League and UEFA Europa League during the group stage. This was done because the same voting system used to favor the same players who used to be nominated for the Ballon d’Or and therefore an opportunity for other competitors used to decrease.

Finally, let’s now take a look at all the UEFA Player of the Year awardees
2010-2011: Lionel Messi (Barcelona)
2011-2012: Andreas Iniesta (Barcelona)
2012-2013: Franck Ribery (Bayern Munich)
2013-2014: Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid)
2014-2015: Lionel Messi (Barcelona)
2015-2016: Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid)
2016-2017: Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid)
2017-2018: Luka Modric (Real Madrid)
2018-2019: Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool)
2019-2020: Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich)
2020-2021: Jorginho (Chelsea)
2021-2022: Karim Benzema (Real Madrid)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Follow us on Social Media
%d bloggers like this: